Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books listings here include both print and e-books on specific Materials Science & Engineering topics, handbooks, references and introductory texts.
To browse more titles, please visit our library home page, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.
Here is a list of books on some of the specific subjects. Click on the hyperlinked headings to see the book list for each subject
Select relevant subjects to browse titles e.g. Ceramics & Ceramic Engineering, Composites, Metals & Metallurgy, Nanotechnology etc
Browse by domain Physical Sciences and Engineering > Materials Science and select Books
Browse by discipline Materials Science and filter to Books
Taylor & Francis ebooks
Browse by Subject > Engineering and filter to Materials Science
World Scientific ebooks
Browse by Books > Materials Science
Handbooks & Reference
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook, Fourth Ed. [ebook] by
Publication Date: 2015
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook provides a convenient, single-volume source for physical and chemical property data on a wide range of engineering materials. As with the first three editions, this Fourth Edition contains information verified by major professional associations such as ASM International and the American Ceramic Society
Handbook of Nanophase and Nanostructured Materials by
Call Number: TA418.9.N35H236N
Publication Date: 2003
These volumes, with of a total of 40 chapters, are a comprehensive and complete introductory text on the synthesis, characterization, and applications of nanomaterials.
Concise Encyclopedia of the Chemical Properties of Materials by
Call Number: TA402.C744ce
Publication Date: 2007
The chemical properties discussed in EMSAT which have selected for the present volume include production and refining processes (principally for metallic materials, but also the processes of polymerization), the thermodynamics and kinetics of phase equilibria, electrochemical reactions and gas-solid reactions.
The Concise Encyclopedia of Materials Processing by
Call Number: TA402.C744n
Publication Date: 2009
The Concise Encyclopedia of Materials Processing is a definitive anthology drawn from the Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Technology (EMSAT). The current volume provides information on how materials are transformed from their raw state into useful end products.
Materials Science and Engineering by
Call Number: TA403.C162 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Callister's new Ninth Edition of Materials Science and Engineering continues to promote student understanding of the three primary types of materials (metals, ceramics, and polymers) and composites, as well as the relationships that exist between the structural elements of materials and their properties. This edition is supported by a redesigned version of Virtual Materials Science and Engineering (VMSE).
Introduction to Materials Science and Engineering by
Call Number: TA403.C559
Publication Date: 2007
Taking a fresh, interdisciplinary look at the field, Introduction to Materials Science and Engineering emphasizes the importance of materials to engineering applications and builds the basis needed to select, modify, or create materials to meet specific criteria. The most outstanding feature of this text is the author's unique and engaging application-oriented approach.
Introduction to Computational Materials Science by
Call Number: TA404.23.L622
Publication Date: 2013
Emphasising essential methods and universal principles, this textbook provides everything students need to understand the basics of simulating materials behaviour. All the key topics are covered from electronic structure methods to microstructural evolution. Modelling is examined at a broad range of scales, from the atomic to the mesoscale.