Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Broadcast & Cinema Studies: eResources

About

Below is a selection of electronic resources (eResources) related to Broadcast and Cinema Studies. These e-resources may include full-text journal articles, abstracts index of citations, e-books, references material, etc. The section below is divided into journals, core databases, reference databases, freely-available databases, and websites. 

The Journals section features some of the renowned journals in the discipline; this is mostly determined by the journal ranking, and for this particular guide, journal ranking by ScimagoJR was used as a reference. Core Databases section lists down popular databases in the discipline. Reference Databases mostly feature databases that contain references for conducting research. Freely Accessible Databases section lists eResources that are available online for free for everyone. 

For each of the eResources listed, simply click on the title to go to the eResources immediately. A brief description of each eResources and its access information is also included to give you an idea of the data or time coverage. 

To browse more eResources, please visit our A-Z collections listing, or ask a librarian for a recommendation. 

Databases

Broadcast & Cinema Studies is a fairly multidisciplinary subject, students should expand their literature and data search beyond the obvious information sources. Browse the Library’s comprehensive list of databases.

Below are some databases relevant to Broadcast & Cinema studies subscribed by the Library.

 

FULL TEXT ACADEMIC DATABASES

STATISTICAL DATABASES

NEWS Databases

AV

AUDIO VISUAL MATERIALS

Films and television programmes are a big part of the curriculum. The library buys a range of feature films, documentaries and television programmes to support teaching and research needs. Formats varies from VCD, DVD, blu-ray and even online.

Physical AV titles that are needed for class use are housed at Communication and Information Library (CMIL)  while the rest are located at the Library Outpost (situated at The Hive) and the Art, Design & Media Library. All libraries have viewing stations for undergraduates to use and view the AV titles available.

 

ASIAN FILMS ONLINE

NTU Library has a subscription to Asian Films Online. This online film library curates and streams films from Asia and the Pacific that are culturally and historically significant.

Asian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. Such themes are central to any meaningful discussion of contemporary Asian culture and society.

 

KEY INDIVIDUAL TITLES

These 2 titles were used heavily by lecturers in core courses. The Library has the physical copies but I have also found online sources which means that you can access them from the comfort of your hall or home.

If you know of any online source of other films/documentaries, do let me know.

SELECTED AV TITLES

Click on the list of subject terms below to check the AV titles in the Library:

  1. Television Dramas
  2. Documentaries
  3. Animated Films
  4. Feature films
  5. Feature films in blu-ray format
  6. Films from or about Singapore
  7. Cinematography
  8. Documentary Production
  9. Production and Direction
  10. All AV titles currently housed at CMIL

SEARCHING FOR AV TITLES

Looking for a specific AV title? Here is a step-by-step instruction guide to search for AV titles in the library catalogue.

Journals - General

Journals - Film

  • Cinema Journal (ISSN: 0009-7101)
    Essays cover a variety of subjects from diverse methodological perspectives. The journal is published in cooperation with the Society for Cinema & Media Studies.
  • Film History: an international journal (ISSN: 0892-2160)
    Covers the historical development of the motion picture, and the social, technological and economic context in which this has occurred. Each issue is devoted to comprehensive studies of a single theme.
  • Film Quarterly
    International in coverage, Film Quarterly articles include interviews; discussions of issues in contemporary film theory; reviews of international, national cinemas, and documentaries; and approaches to film history.
  • The Moving Image (ISSN: 1542-4235)
    Deals with the preservation and restoration of film, television, video, and digital moving images. The journal offers detailed profiles of moving image collections, behind-the-scenes looks at the techniques used to preserve and restore moving images, and theoretical and visionary articles on the future of the field.

Journals - Television

  • Critical Studies in Television (ISSN: 1749-6020)
    An international forum for the presentation of original research and sustained intellectual discussion on television.
  • Television and New Media (ISSN: 1527-4764)
    This international journal is devoted to the most recent trends in television and new media studies.

Journals - Radio

Open Access Journals

  • Global Media Journal (ISSN: 1550-7521)
    Publishes works that assess existing media structures and practices, such as global media concentration, globalization of TV genres, global media and consumer culture, the role of media in democratic governance and global justice, propaganda, media reception and cultural practice, commercialization of news, new media technologies, media regulations, regional media, alternative media, and other timely issues.
  • Scope (ISSN: 1469-9166)
    A peer-reviewed online journal edited by the staff and students of the Institute of Film & Television Studies at the University of Nottingham. Topics cover all aspects of film history, theory and criticism, encompassing a wide range of approaches and critical methodologies.

Websites

ASSOCIATIONS & ORGANIZATIONS – LOCAL

Singapore Film Society
Screenwriters Association (Singapore)
Singapore Film Commission
Singapore International Film Festival
Asian Film Archive
Objectifs Films

 

ASSOCIATIONS & ORGANIZATIONS – INTERNATIONAL

Society for Cinema & Media Studies
American Film Institute
British Film Institute
International Documentary Association
Cinematheque Francaise, Paris

 

FILM PRESERVATION

The Film Foundation 
International Federation of Film Archives  
Journal of Film Preservation
Library of Congress-Digital Preservation

 

MUSEUMS

Museo Nazionale del Cinema, Turin
Deutsche Kinemathek, Berlin
Nederlands Filmmuseum, Amsterdam
Film Museum, Vienna
London Film Museum
National Media Museum, Bradford
Museum of the Moving Image, New York
The Hollywood Museum, Los Angeles
Australian Centre for the Moving Image, Melbourne

 

GOVERNMENT BODIES

Media Development Authority
Ministry of Information, Communication & the Arts

 

AWARDS & FILM FESTIVALS

Singapore International Film Festivals & the Silver Screen Awards
Singapore Short Film Awards
Mark Litwak’s Film Festivals
Top 25 Film Festivals for Documentaries
Sundance Film Festival
Documentaryfilms.net documentary festival directory

 

FILM LISTS / DATABASES

Local documentaries by ThreeSixZero Productions
15 short films at 15Malaysia.com
Photographiclibraries.com
The International Short Film Database
Notable Videos for Adults by the ALA Video Round Table (VRT)
Internet Archive’s Moving Images
Viddsee – Asian Short Films 
The Auteurs
or
MUBI.com

 

OTHERS

A Moment With…Ed Walker

Lee Thornton from the University of Maryland speaks with blind broadcaster Ed Walker about his long career in radio. The host of public radio’s “The Big Broadcast” discusses why vintage radio still works for many listeners today.

J.J. Abrams’ mystery box

J.J. Abrams’ March 2007 talk at TED.com about mystery, infinite possibilities and technology in media production.

TED TALKS – Filmmakers 

From film directors to producers, here them talk about the creative process of making films.