Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below is a selection of books on biological sciences. Books are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books include both print and e-books. For print books, a call number is included so that you can find them in the library.
The books are a selection of dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks. A brief paragraph that describes the content and recommended use are appended on each book.
To browse more titles, please visit our library home page, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by
Publication Date: 2006-08-24
Over the last few years, the language of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology has expanded enormously to the extent that few scientists can expect to be familiar with all the terms and concepts. This is partly due the massive influence of the Genome and successive "-omics" projects which havedeveloped in to many new areas of research. At the same time, terms from other subject areas - including mathematics, statistics, physics and other life sciences - appear increasingly in the biochemical literature. The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive and 'encyclopaedic' survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology.
Dictionary of Biology by
Publication Date: 2008-03-15
Fully revised and updated for the sixth edition, this market-leading dictionary is the perfect guide for anyone studying biology, either at school or university. With over 5,200 clear and concise entries, over 300 of them new to this edition, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology,biophysics, and biochemistry. Features include biographical entries on key scientists and highlighted entries on important topics such as bioinformatics, genomics, molecular evolution, and protein structure, with further reading suggestions. Appendices include classification of the animal and plant kingdoms; geological timescale; major mass extinctions of species; model organisms and their genomes; and Nobel prizewinners.
A Dictionary of Genetics by
Publication Date: 2006-07-27
The publication of this fully updated edition of A Dictionary of Genetics coincides with the hundredth anniversary of the introduction of the term genetics by William Bateson in 1906 at the Third International Conference on Genetics. Since then genetics has made tremendous advances inknowledge and technique and now occupies a pivotal position in the life sciences as the most powerful means for probing fundamental questions in cell biology, development, and evolution. The determination of sequences of complete genomes, the study of gene expression and genetic variation on aglobal scale, and the ability to rapidly amplify gene sequences and to achieve targeted gene disruptions are just some examples of major achievements in this field. Proliferation of new terms inevitably accompanies such remarkable progress.
A Dictionary of Science by
Publication Date: 2005-10-27
This dictionary contains over 9,000 entries on all aspects of science. It provides comprehensive coverage of biology (including human biology), chemistry, physics, the earth sciences, and astronomy. The entries are supported by over 200 clear diagrams and illustrations, and fullycross-referenced for ease of use.Other features include short biographies of leading scientists, full page illustrated features on subjects such as the Solar System and Genetically Modified Organisms, and chronologies of specific scientific subjects including plastics, electronics, and cell biology.Both concise and wide-ranging, this dictionary is an ideal handy reference work for students, and a great introduction for non-scientists.
Dictionary of Parasitology by
Publication Date: 2005-06-24
Although many books have been published on various aspects of human, animal, and plant parasitology, as well as the public health problems associated with parasites, none to date has offered a comprehensive glossary for those confronted with the discipline's exceptionally extensive terminology. To meet this need requires a dedicated text that can house the myriad entries that define all the basic principles and advanced nomenclature of parasitology. The Dictionary of Parasitology reflects current practice in all aspects of parasitology and includes spellings, punctuation, abbreviations, acronyms, symbols, nomenclature, prefixes, and suffixes. It covers the field of modern parasitology with concise, clear, and authoritative precision. The dictionary assigns entries of parasites to the primary divisions of parasitology: human, veterinary, plant, insect, or fish; although in many instances the area of interest may be wide-ranging.
Encyclopedia of life sciences by
Publication Date: 2010
eLS (formerly known as the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences) is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 5,000 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles written by leaders in the field. It offers comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the life sciences for students, lecturers and researchers alike.
eLS articles are accompanied by colour illustrations and tables. Appendix and glossary material provide essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data. As all articles have been peer-reviewed, a balanced representation of the literature is ensured.
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology by
Publication Date: 1999-04-22
The field of molecular biology has revolutionized the study of biology. The applications to medicine are enormous, ranging from diagnostic techniques for disease and genetic disorders, to drugs, to gene therapy. Focusing on the fundamentals of molecular biology and encompassing all aspects of the expression of genetic information, the Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology will become the first point of reference for both newcomers and established professionals in molecular biology needing to learn about any particular aspect of the field.
Encyclopedia of Cancer by
Publication Date: 2008-10-22
This comprehensive encyclopedic reference provides rapid access to focused information on topics of cancer research for clinicians, research scientists and advanced students. Given the overwhelming success of the first edition, which appeared in 2001, and fast development in the different fields of cancer research, it has been decided to publish a second fully revised and expanded edition. With an A-Z format of over 7,000 entries, more than 1,000 contributing authors provide a complete reference to cancer. The merging of different basic and clinical scientific disciplines towards the common goal of fighting cancer makes such a comprehensive reference source all the more timely.
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience by
Publication Date: 2008-12-04
This 5000-page masterwork is literally the last word on the topic and will be an essential resource for many. Unique in its breadth and detail, this encyclopedia offers a comprehensive and highly readable guide to a complex and fast-expanding field. The five-volume reference work gathers more than 10,000 entries, including in-depth essays by internationally known experts, and short keynotes explaining essential terms and phrases. In addition, expert editors contribute detailed introductory chapters to each of 43 topic fields ranging from the fundamentals of neuroscience to fascinating developments in the new, inter-disciplinary fields of Computational Neuroscience and Neurophilosophy. Some 1,000 multi-color illustrations enhance and expand the writings.
Encyclopedia of Molecular Mechanisms of Disease by
Publication Date: 2009-05-08
This comprehensive encyclopedia supplies the reader with concise information on the molecular pathophysiology of disease. Entries include defined diseases (such as Parkinson's disease) as well as pathophysiological entities (such as tremor). The 1,200 essays are brilliantly structured to allow rapid retrieval of the desired information. For more detailed reading, each entry is followed by up to five references. Individual entries are written by leading experts in the respective area of research to ensure state-of-the-art descriptions of the mechanisms involved. It is an invaluable companion for clinicians and scientists in all medical disciplines.
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Informatics by
Publication Date: 2008-07-17
This new third edition updates a best-selling encyclopedia. It includes about 56% more words than the 1,392-page second edition of 2003. The number of illustrations increased to almost 2,000 and their quality has improved by design and four colors. It includes approximately 1,800 current databases and web servers. This encyclopedia covers the basics and the latest in genomics, proteomics, genetic engineering, small RNAs, transcription factories, chromosome territories, stem cells, genetic networks, epigenetics, prions, hereditary diseases, and patents. Similar integrated information is not available in textbooks or on the Internet.
Handbook of Neurochemistry and Molecular Neurobiology : Neural Lipids by
Publication Date: 2010-02-18
The ‘‘Neural Lipids’’ volume of the new Edition of the Handbook of Neurochemistry and Molecular
Neurobiology was conceived to offer an update on present knowledge of neural lipids, evidencing the new
advances and concepts but recalling the old basic ones in a perspective of continuity. Notwithstanding the
efforts, the resulting view may probably be incomplete. However, it is surely sufficient to convince especially the newcomers to the field of the importance of structural and functional lipidology
Cell Biology by
Publication Date: 2005-11-09
This four-volume laboratory manual contains comprehensive state-of-the-art protocols essential for research in the life sciences. Techniques are presented in a friendly step-by-step fashion, providing useful tips and potential pitfalls. The important steps and results are beautifully illustrated for further ease of use. This collection enables researchers at all stages of their careers to embark on basic biological problems using a variety of technologies and model systems. This thoroughly updated third edition contains 165 new articles in classical as well as rapidly emerging technologies. Topics covered include: Cell and Tissue Culture: Associated Techniques, Viruses, Antibodies, Immunocytochemistry (Volume 1) Organelle and Cellular Structures, Assays (Volume 2) Imaging Techniques, Electron Microscopy, Scanning Probe and Scanning Electron Microscopy, Microdissection, Tissue Arrays, Cytogenetics and In Situ Hybridization, Genomics and Transgenic Knockouts and Knock-down Methods (Volume 3) Transfer of Macromolecules, Expression Systems, Gene Expression Profiling (Volume 4)
Handbook of Computational Molecular Biology by
Publication Date: 2005-12-21
The enormous complexity of biological systems at the molecular level must be answered with powerful computational methods. Computational biology is a young field, but has seen rapid growth and advancement over the past few decades. Surveying the progress made in this multidisciplinary field, the Handbook of Computational Molecular Biology offers comprehensive, systematic coverage of the various techniques and methodologies currently available. Accomplished researcher Srinivas Aluru leads a team of experts from around the world to produce this groundbreaking, authoritative reference. With discussions ranging from fundamental concepts to practical applications, this book details the algorithms necessary to solve novel problems and manage the massive amounts of data housed in biological databases throughout the world. Divided into eight sections for convenient searching, the handbook covers methods and algorithms for sequence alignment, string data structures, sequence assembly and clustering, genome-scale computational methods in comparative genomics, evolutionary and phylogenetic trees, microarrays and gene expression analysis, computational methods in structural biology, and bioinformatics databases and data mining. The Handbook of Computational Molecular Biologyis the first resource to integrate coverage of the broad spectrum of topics in computational biology and bioinformatics. It supplies a quick-reference guide for easy implementation and provides a strong foundation for future discoveries in the field.
Dendritic Cells by
Publication Date: 2008-11-24
The understanding of the role of dendritic cells (DCs) in immune responses has come a long way since Steinmann and colleagues described these cells in 1972. - tensive research during the intervening period has provided a good understanding of the complexity of the DC system and its pivotal role in immunity. It is also now clearer how different subsets of DCs interact and regulate each other and how DC populations affect the function of other cells of the immune system. The improved understanding of their role in immune response has led to the idea that modulation of DC functions by, for example, pharmacological agents could be used as a pot- tial therapeutic approach in some pathological conditions. The actual applicability and therapeutic potential of all these approaches is yet to be fully demonstrated but nonetheless, animal models of human diseases are proving to be very helpful in the evaluation of manipulated DCs as a new treatment in diseases like cancer, auto- munity or asthma. DCs are integral to the initiation and regulation of immune response (Banchereau et al. 2000). The outcome of antigen presentation by DCs is determined by their maturation status, which can be induced by their interaction with danger signals. To recognise a wide array of pathogen-associated molecular patterns (PAMP), DCs express a number of pattern recognition receptors (PRR) such as Toll-like rec- tors (TLRs) and C-type lectin receptors (CLR) that recognise structural components of pathogens and discriminate between self and non-self molecules.
Oxford Handbook of Genetics by
Publication Date: 2009-12-20
The Oxford Handbook of Genetics provides an essential overview of this complex subject, distilled into an accessible format for primary care practitioners and junior doctors. It can be used as an aide memoire to gain advice on dealing with individual patients during the working day, or as areference text to be read over time. Combining the expertise of leading geneticists with the knowledge of experienced general practitioners, the handbook covers the genetics core curriculum as defined by the Royal College of General Practitioners. It includes sections on elementary genetics, singlegene disorders, and chromosomal problems, as well as information about the multifactorial diseases, such as ischaemic heart disease, with which practitioners are more familiar. There are also comprehensive sections on antenatal issues, and cancers. A comprehensive glossary with explanations ofgenetic terminology, and an extensive list of resources, make this book suitable for all healthcare professionals regardless of their level of knowledge or experience. Designed to cross the primary-secondary care interface, this unique handbook covers the gap between general health training andgenetic specialist training, including specific advice about when, and how, to make a referral to a genetics service. Given the rapid growth in the genetic knowledge base, this book is designed to be both accessible and informative as a substantive educational resource for practitioners.
Clinical Genetics by
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Judith G. Hall is a 2011 Fellow of The Royal Society of Canada.The first in a brand new series of easy-to-use guides, this book is set to become the bible for clinical consultation in genetics. It covers the process of diagnosis, investigation, management, and counselling for patients. Most of the topics fit onto a double-page spread ensuring that the book isan accessible, quick reference for the clinic or hospital consultation. Where available, diagnostic criteria for specific conditions are included as well as contact details for support groups. The book is well illustrated and has an up-to-date bibliography and glossaries of terms used in geneticsand dysmorphology. The authors have used their experience to devise a practical clinical approach to many common genetic referrals, both out patient and ward based. The most common Mendelian disorders, chromosomal disorders, congenital anomalies and syndromes are all covered. In addition there are chapters onfamilial cancer and pregnancy-related topics such as foetal anomalies, teratogens, prenatal and pre-implantation diagnosis. The book also provides information on the less common situations, where management is particularly complex, or important genetic concepts are illustrated.
Handbook of Molecular Biophysics by
This handbook and reference condenses the biophysics and biomedical contents of the renowned Encyclopedia of Applied Physics in one handy volume. Twenty-eight carefully written overview articles cover the latest research, including single molecule spectroscopy, biosensors and cellular biomechanics. Readers benefit from concise summaries of the fundamentals, methods and applications, backed by detailed tables of contents for quick access, and glossaries of terms, as well as detailed lists of references and further reading. For libraries and R&D teams in academia and industry.